Altan's 25 Anniversary Celebration CD CoverWith the RTE Concert Orchestra - 2009

Altan celebrate 25 Years playing together with this very special recording of their most popular tunes and songs with the RTE Concert Orchestra.

In recent years Altan have been exploring and experimenting with their music using orchestral arrangements of their most popular pieces. The arrangements have been scored by the highly respected arranger, Fiachra Trench and have been performed with the Ulster Orchestra, The RTÉ Concert Orchestra and with the Royal Scottish Opera Orchestra.

25th Anniversary Celebration features 15 of these orchestral arrangements, recorded in Dublin with The RTÉ Concert Orchestra and conducted by David Brophy.

  • Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh, fiddle, vocals
  • Ciaran Tourish, fiddle, whistles, backing vocals
  • Ciarán Curran, bouzouki
  • Mark Kelly, guitar, backing vocals
  • Dermot Byrne, accordion

and the RTE Concert Orchestra
Conducted by David Brophy
Trad. Arrangements by Altan
Orchestral arrangements by Fiachra Trench

Order this CD at Amazon

  1. Is The Big Man Within? / Tilly Finn's Reel
  2. Cití na gCuman
  3. The Roseville (comp. Dáithí Sproule)
  4. I Wish My Love Was a Red Red Rose
  5. Dónal agus Morag (additional lyrics, Proinsias Ó Maonaigh)
  6. Mo Ghaoil (additional lyrics, Proinsias Ó Maonaigh)
  7. Bog an Lochain / The Margaree Reel / The Humours of Westport
  8. A Tune for Frankie (comp. Mairead Ní Mhaonaigh)
  9. Molly na gCuach Ní Chuilleanáin
  10. Soillse na Nollag (comp. Proinsias Ó Maonaigh/Mairead Ní Mhaonaigh)
  11. As I Roved Out
  12. The Sunset (comp. Cathal McConnell/Seamus Quinn)
  13. Gleanntáin Ghlas Ghaoth Dobhair (lyrics comp. Proinsias Ó Maonaigh)
  14. Comb Your Hair and Curl It / Gweebarra Bridge
  15. Dún Do Shúil

All tunes Trad., except where noted