Altan: Horse With A Heart1988

“When Altan released Horse with a Heart, it served as a welcome reminder that Irish music that hewed close to tradition still had a place in the world. Although this was Altan's second CD, it was the first where they gelled as a band. The wife-and-husband team of Mairead Ni Mhaonaigh and Frankie Kennedy are the emotional center of the group. When they play the fiddle and flute together you feel as if you are overhearing an intimate conversation.” -Michael Simmons

  • Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh, vocals, fiddle
  • Frankie Kennedy, flute
  • Paul O'Shaughnessy, fiddle
  • Ciarán Curran, bouzouki
  • Mark Kelly, guitar
  • With: Marie Askin, Phil Cunningham, Dónal Lunny, Colm Murphy, Steve White


  • Phil Cunningham – Producer
  • Dan Fitzgerald – Engineer
  • John W. Davis – Assistant Engineer
  • Stephen Byram – Design
  • Ross Wilson – Artwork
  • Dave Harrold - Back cover photograph

Buy at Amazon

  1. The Curlew / McDermott's / Three Scones of Boxty
  2. The Lass of Glenshee
  3. Con Cassidy's and Neil Gow's Highlands / Moll an Tiarna / McSweeney's Reels
  4. The Road to Durham
  5. An t-Oileán Úr
  6. An Grianán / Horse With a Heart
  7. A Bhean Udaí Thall
  8. Welcome Home Grainne / Con McGinley's
  9. Tuirse Mo Chroí
  10. Come Ye By Atholl / Kitty O'Connor
  11. An Feochán
  12. Paddy's Trip to Scotland / Dinky's / The Shetland Fiddler

All titles arranged by Altan. All titles are traditional, except the following:

  • "An Grianán" and "Horse with a Heart" – composed by Frankie Kennedy
  • "The Curlew" – composed by Josephine Keegan
  • "McDermott's" – composed by Josie McDermott
  • "An Feochán" – composed by Tommy Peoples
  • "The Road to Durham" – composed by Armin Barnett and David Molk
The Lass of Glenshee