Altan – The First Album

Altan: The First Album
  1. The Highlandman / The Cliffs of Glencolumbkille / Old Cuffe Street
  2. An tSeanchailleach Gallda / Dermot Byrne’s
  3. Tá Mo Chleamhnas á Dhéanamh
  4. The Cat that Ate the Candle / Over the Water to Bessie
  5. Ceol a’ Phíobaire
  6. Tommy Peoples’ / Loch Altan / Danny Meehans’s
  7. Rogha An Ghabha / Charlie O’Donnell’s
  8. The Sunset
  9. Thug Mé Rúide
  10. The Humours of Whiskey / The Fairy Jig / The Humours of Whiskey
  11. Jimmy Lyons’ / Leslie’s Reel
  12. Cití na gCumann
  13. Con Cassidy’s Highland / Neilly O’Boyle’s Highland and Reel

All titles are traditional, except the following:
The Sunset – composed by Cathal McConnell and Seamus Quinn
Loch Altan – composed by Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh

Tracks 1,2,5,6,7,9,11,12,13 arranged by Kennedy, Ní Mhaonaigh, Kelly, Curran.
Tracks 3,4,8.10 arranged by Kennedy, Ní Mhaonaigh, Kelly, Curran, Lunny.


Track 8: The Sunset

Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh · Vocals, Fiddle
Frankie Kennedy · Flute
Ciarán Curran · Bouzouki
Mark Kelly · Guitar
Dónal Lunny · Bodhrán, Keyboards
Anna Ní Mhaonaigh · Additional Vocals

Dónal Lunny – Producer, Engineer
Lolly Kupec – Design

More recordings

  • Altan Donegal cd cover
  • Altan: The Gap of Dreams
  • Altan: The Widening Gyre
  • Altan: The Poison Glen
  • Altan 25th Anniversary Concert CD
  • Altan: Local Ground
  • Altan :The Blue Idol
  • Altan: Another Sky
  • Altan: Runaway Sunday
  • Altan: Blackwater
  • Altan: Island Angel
  • Altan: Harvest Storm
  • Altan: The Red Crow
  • Altan: Horse with a Heart
  • Altan: The First Ten Years
  • The Best of Altan: The Songs