Horse With A Heart

Altan: Horse with a Heart
  1. The Curlew / McDermott’s / Three Scones of Boxty
  2. The Lass of Glenshee
  3. Con Cassidy’s and Neil Gow’s Highlands / Moll an Tiarna / McSweeney’s Reels
  4. The Road to Durham
  5. An t-Oileán Úr
  6. An Grianán / Horse With a Heart
  7. A Bhean Udaí Thall
  8. Welcome Home Grainne / Con McGinley’s
  9. Tuirse Mo Chroí
  10. Come Ye By Atholl / Kitty O’Connor
  11. An Feochán
  12. Paddy’s Trip to Scotland / Dinky’s / The Shetland Fiddler

“When Altan released Horse with a Heart, it served as a welcome reminder that Irish music that hewed close to tradition still had a place in the world. Although this was Altan’s second CD, it was the first where they gelled as a band. The wife-and-husband team of Mairead Ni Mhaonaigh and Frankie Kennedy are the emotional center of the group. When they play the fiddle and flute together you feel as if you are overhearing an intimate conversation.” -Michael Simmons

All titles arranged by Altan. All titles are traditional, except the following:

  • “An Grianán” and “Horse with a Heart” – composed by Frankie Kennedy
  • “The Curlew” – composed by Josephine Keegan
  • “McDermott’s” – composed by Josie McDermott
  • “An Feochán” – composed by Tommy Peoples
  • “The Road to Durham” – composed by Armin Barnett and David Molk


Track 2: The Lass of Glenshee

Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh, vocals, fiddle
Frankie Kennedy, flute
Paul O’Shaughnessy, fiddle
Ciarán Curran, bouzouki
Mark Kelly, guitar

With: Marie Askin, Phil Cunningham, Dónal Lunny, Colm Murphy, Steve White

Phil Cunningham – Producer
Dan Fitzgerald – Engineer
John W. Davis – Assistant Engineer
Stephen Byram – Design
Ross Wilson – Artwork
Dave Harrold – Back cover photograph

More recordings

  • Altan Donegal cd cover
  • Altan: The Gap of Dreams
  • Altan: The Widening Gyre
  • Altan: The Poison Glen
  • Altan 25th Anniversary Concert CD
  • Altan: Local Ground
  • Altan :The Blue Idol
  • Altan: Another Sky
  • Altan: Runaway Sunday
  • Altan: Blackwater
  • Altan: Island Angel
  • Altan: Harvest Storm
  • Altan: The Red Crow
  • Altan: The First Album
  • Altan: The First Ten Years
  • The Best of Altan: The Songs