Altan: Another SkyAnother Sky is the Altan's seventh studio album. It was released in 2000 on the Narada Productions label.

The title derives from a line in Steve Cooney's song Island Girl, which Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh sings on the album with Cooney himself as accompanist. The album features the Scots language song, Green Grow The Rushes by Robert Burns, as well as Bob Dylan's The Girl from the North Country. A video was released for the Irish track Beidh Aonach Amárach. (see below).

Mairéad Ní Mhaonaigh, fiddle, vocals · Ciaran Tourish, fiddle, whistle, backing vocals · Dermot Byrne, accordion · Ciarán Curran, bouzouki · Mark Kelly, guitar, backing vocals  · Dáithí Sproule, guitar, backing vocals.

With: Bill Butt, Steve Cooney, Jerry Douglas, Jimmy Higgins, James 'Hutch' Hutchinson, Mick Kinsella, Dónal Lunny, Neil Martin, Niamh Nelson, Tríona Ní Dhomhnaill, Mick O'Brien, Bonnie Raitt, Alan Smale, Gillian Williams.

Buy at Amazon

  1. Beidh Aonach Amárach (There's a Fair Tomorrow)
  2. Green Grow the Rushes
  3. The King of Meenasillagh / Lamey's / The High Fiddle Reel
  4. Island Girl
  5. Eoghainín Ó Ragadáin
  6. Ten Thousand Miles
  7. Gusty's Frolicks / Con's Slip Jig / The Pretty Young Girls of Carrick / The Humours of Whiskey
  8. The Girl from the North Country
  9. The Verdant Braes of Screen
  10. The Dispute at the Crossroads/ Columba Ward's / Siún's Reel
  11. Tiocfaidh an Samhradh (Summer Will Come)
  12. The Ookpik Waltz
  13. The Waves of Gola
  • Altan – Producer
  • Conal Markey – Engineer
  • Gary Paczosa – Mixer
  • Doug Sax – Mastering
  • Dave McKean – Design, illustration
  • Paul McCarthy – Band Photography
  • Jan Voster – Landscape Photography
Ten Thousand Miles